Review: Book: River Rising- John A. Leldt

36274542

 

Title: River Rising

Series: Carson Chronicles #1

Author’s Name:John A. Heldt

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: NA Historical Fiction

Page Count: 661 Pages

ISBN: B075RQ1XHY

Author or Book Website: http://johnheldt.blogspot.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: River Rising

Link to Goodreads: River Rising

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

Weeks after his parents disappear on a hike, engineer Adam Carson, 27, searches for answers. Then he discovers a secret web site and learns his mom and dad are time travelers stuck in the past. Armed with the information he needs to find them, Adam convinces his younger siblings to join him on a rescue mission to the 1880s.

While Greg, the adventurous middle brother, follows leads in the Wild West, Adam, journalist Natalie, and high school seniors Cody and Caitlin do the same in Johnstown, Pennsylvania. Like the residents of the bustling steel community, all are unaware of a flood that will destroy the city on May 31, 1889.

In RIVER RISING, the first novel in the Carson Chronicles series, five young adults find love, danger, and adventure as they experience America in the age of bustle dresses, gunslingers, and robber barons.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this for a fair and honest review. This is my second book by this author. I am glad I said yes to reading this. I am not sure how time travel works, but it does make for interesting and exciting adventures. I am not sure how I would handle this, but I think Adam and his siblings did well enjoy. Getting the letter from the lawyer and discovering all that about his parents and then mounting the rescue. It is a well written story with a cliffhanger, but I expected that it being the first book in a series. I was not disappointed in this book at all. 

My Rating of the Book: 5 Stars

Leave a comment