Review: Book: Letters from a Christmas Elf- Kurt and Kirsten Johnston

2017190612

Title: Letters from a Christmas Elf

Series: Standalone

Author’s Name: Kurt and Kirsten Johnston

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Humor

Page Count: 143 Pages

ISBN: B07DCF4GYK

Author or Book Website: N/A

Link to Amazon purchase page: Letters From A Christmas Elf

Link to Goodreads: Letters From A Christmas Elf

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

One of Santa’s trusty Elves is assigned to report on the Johnstons. He follows the lives of Kirsten & Kurt and their eight children, along with a few cats and a dog. The family has gotten older, but wisdom still eludes them as they continue to find new ways to get laughed at without even trying. These letters tell the truth most sane people won’t admit — the naughty, the nice and the nonsense. Does this family deserve anything from Santa? You decide.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. This book was enjoyably fun to read. The experience of read about an elf assigned to a family and that he reports back to his boss. Tells me that my family is close to normal. Seems to me that the Johnstons are making this poor elf work double and triple overtime keeping track of the family. I enjoyed that humor and real family nature of this book. I will have to check the webpage for the updates after this to keep up with the elf’s opinion and notes. 

My Rating of the Book: 4 Stars

Advertisements

Just Checking In!!!

b12btHD

I know that I have not given a weekly wrap up in a while. I have been doing a lot of reviews and of course doing a lot of reading. I have been fighting some bad insomnia and it is making it a little hard to blog. This is night five with me have trouble sleeping and if I do I get about an hour and something wakes me up. I have had an issue with insomnia for most of my life. I talked to someone about and they just said that I should try to sit to a normal sleeping schedule, but I don’t see a point after an hour or to lying in bed with my eyes close and not falling sleep of staying there unable to sleep. So sometimes I will get up and read or write or even blog like I am now. Or if I have an extra lot of energy I will clean house or do chores around the house.

I know that I am a little behind on my reviewing schedule. I guess I said yes to a few too many, but I said I would do it so I am reading and posting the reviews as fast as I can. I think I am now down under 200 on my list. I keep a binder with all the books and things I am looking to do this year. I want to do something other than just book reviews. I want to do other book related content. I am still looking as to what I want to add. I do have a few idea and I am working on them. Once I know for sure I will post more updates soon. Thanks for reading my blog. Have a great day and enjoy what you read.

 

Review: Book: Queen Takes King- Joely Sue Burkhart

1105913914

Title: Queen Takes King

Series: Their Vampire Queen Series #2

Author’s Name: Joely Sue Burkhart

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Page Count: 352 Pages

ISBN: B076PMHCHZ

Author or Book Website: https://joelysueburkhart.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Queen Takes King

Link to Goodreads: Queen Takes King

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

How many Blood will come to the vampire queen’s call… and will they be able to protect her from the king?

For the first time in her adult life, Shara has plenty of money thanks to the Isador legacy–and she’s not alone. Daire and Rik are devoted lovers, but they know other Blood are coming. Blood who may challenge Rik for the coveted alpha spot at her back.

As her power grows, so does her hunger. But without fangs, she fears she’ll never be the queen her Blood expect. More Blood means power struggles and complications, and she has no idea how to keep everyone happy. Worse, her dreams are quickly becoming something to fear.

Moving to establish her permanent nest, she can’t stop dreaming of the king. A massive monster. Chained in darkness. Lost to madness. He roars with fury in her dreams, demanding his release.

But is he the key to unraveling her own mysterious past–or the most dangerous threat of all?

This is a MMFFM+ polyam series and Shara will never be forced to choose just one. #whychoose

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. There is something about this series that just makes me feel great. Shara and her boys are sweet, sexy, amazing and all of them more than yummy. This was better than the first one. The first book end with her having two bloods and this with more. The energy in these books is so addicting and enjoyable. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one. My heart is just racing. There is so much I want to say about this series but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. I will say that G and Levi are my favorite characters. 

My Rating of the Book: 5 Stars

Review: Book: Legend- Nicole Zoltack

1116340246

Title: Legend

Series: Queenmaker Series #1

Author’s Name: Nicole Zoltack

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: YA Fantasy

Page Count: 234 Pages

ISBN: B07J47BYKG

Author or Book Website: http://nicolezoltack.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Legend

Link to Goodreads: Legend

Release Date: N/A 

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

A maid who will become legend…

Sixteen-year-old Alena longs for a world where peasants, servants, and nobles are all equal. Truly, that will never be possible until the day when she removes a sword from a stone and might have the chance to become queen… if she can rally those same peasants, servants, and nobles behind her.

Legend is a King Arthur retelling with Arthur as Alena, a maid who can possibly become so much more than she ever dreamed possible. Perfect for fans of The Mists of Avalon, The Selection, and Red Queen.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. I have been reading a lot of things in my life about King Arthur. I was so fascinated when I say this description that it was a girl who would be in the role of Arthur. I like Alena she is good well-developed character and she wants a kingdom through peace. It was a good start I will have to get to the rest. 

My Rating of the Book: 4 Stars

Review: Book: Dare to Fall- Estelle Maskame

902324905

Title: Dare to Fall

Series: Standalone

Author’s Name: Estelle Maskame

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: YA Romance

Page Count: 336 Pages

ISBN: 9781492670315, 1492670316

Author or Book Website: http://www.estellemaskame.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Dare to Fall

Link to Goodreads: Dare to Fall

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

The higher the stakes, the greater the fall.

MacKenzie Rivers knows the kind of impact death can have on those it leaves behind. She’s felt that grief firsthand. So when Jaden, her crush and almost-boyfriend, loses his parents in a car accident, MacKenzie steps back. It might not be the right thing to do, but with an alcoholic mother and a father who deals with their family problems by not dealing at all, self-preservation is her only option.

Then the pair meet by chance one night, reunited for the first time in months. Before MacKenzie can throw up her walls again, old feelings resurface and new memories are made. MacKenzie has missed Jaden more than anything. But can she dare to fall for the one person she’s so afraid of growing close to?

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. Kenzie learned to deal with tragedy from her parents which is not deal with it at all. She does her think by withdraws from her boyfriend Jaden and from her best friend Danielle after their parents are killed in a car accident. Then just by chance they meet again and she has been missing. She is not sure she wants to take the chance of falling in love with him and she is struggling with her emotions. 

My Rating of the Book: 4 Stars

Review: Book: Lovely, Dark, and Deep- Justina Chen

77207458

Title: Lovely, Dark, and Deep

Series: Standalone

Author’s Name: Justina Chen

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Genre: YA 

Page Count: 352 Pages

ISBN: 9781338134063, 133813406X

Author or Book Website: http://justinachen.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Lovely, Dark, and Deep

Link to Goodreads: Lovely, Dark and Deep

Release Date: N/A 

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

What would you do if the sun became your enemy?

That’s exactly what happens to Viola Li after she returns from a trip abroad and develops a sudden and extreme case of photosensitivity — an inexplicable allergy to sunlight. Thanks to her crisis-manager parents, she doesn’t just have to wear layers of clothes and a hat the size of a spaceship. She has to stay away from all hint of light. Say goodbye to windows and running outdoors. Even her phone becomes a threat when its screen burns her.

Viola is determined to maintain a normal life, particularly after she meets Josh. He’s a funny, talented Thor look-alike who carries his own mysterious grief. But the intensity of their romance makes her take more and more risks, and when a rebellion against her parents backfires dangerously, she must find her way to a life — and love — as deep and lovely as her dreams.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. This is the tale of a young woman named Viola who life is turned upside down when she becomes photosensitive. That means that sunlight or any life is harmful to her. Even her phone became dangerous. She wants to try to get her life back to as normal as possible. That is when she meets Josh and it is hard to explain her illness. It was a very good read and it compelling. 

My Rating of the Book: 4 1/2 Stars

Review: Book: Pounding Earth- Erin Bedford

1620647722

Title: Pounding Earth

Series: Starcrossed Dragons #4

Author’s Name: Erin Bedford

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Fantasy

Page Count: 298 Pages

ISBN: B07F7HYY85

Author or Book Website: https://erinbedford.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Pounding Earth

Link to Goodreads: Pounding Earth

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

The Stunning Conclusion to the hit series
Maya and her three sexy mates thought they were safe in the North as they prepared to take back the Eastern dragon kingdom, but they were wrong.

As Maya’s pregnancy brings new surprises and powers, treachery leads to one of her three beloved men being taken from her. And to add to the brewing chaos, an army of the West appears on her doorstep, led by none other than her sister.

It’s up to Maya to master her new powers, save her lost mate, and rally the dragons of Waesigar to defeat the Lady of the East and bring peace back to the land. All to secure her happily ever after.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. This is the final book in this lovely series. This one left me with a few questions for not all of them were answered. She has all three guys and she is still pregnant. But what good does this all do when they have no place to go. I wanted to know more, but it was a good book over all. 

My Rating of the Book: 4 Stars