Review: Book: Hemlock Hollow- Culley Holderfield

Title: Hemlock Hollow

Series: Standalone

Author’s Name: Culley Holderfield

Publisher: Regal House Publishing

Genre: Horror

Page Count: 287 Pages

ISBN: ‎ 978-1646032860

Author or Book Website: ​Culley Holderfield – Writer. Tar Heel. Tree Hugger.

Link to Amazon purchase page: Amazon.com: Hemlock Hollow: Holderfield, Culley: Books

Link to Goodreads: Hemlock Hollow by Culley Holderfield | Goodreads

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: Review Copy

Summary of the Book:

Caroline McAlister, college professor and life-long skeptic, is reeling from the loss of her father and her marriage. Her once promising career has come to a standstill. When her father bequeaths the family cabin to her, it comes with a ghost who haunted her childhood. When she discovers a century-old journal in the attic, she awakens the voice of Carson Quinn. The journal reveals Carson’s love for the same hollow that enthralled Caroline growing up. A little sleuthing uncovers rumors that the kind, curious boy in the journal grew up to murder his brother. Caroline plunges into the project of exonerating Carson, only to find herself in the throes of a personal past she’s spent her life trying to avoid. Hemlock Hollow is about how we forever haunt the places we love and how they haunt us in return.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. I am always up for a bit of a scare and this book did not let me down. The cabin setting and the memories that Caroline has in this place from her childhood. She decides to change up the cabin and make it her own space. I find Caroline strong and enjoy character. I know this is Culley Holderfield’s debut novel, but I can’t want to see what else he is going to create. I could almost imagine being right there in the thick of the action of this story.

My Rating of the Book: 4 Stars

Leave a comment